Council Member

Alistair Hetherington holds the Melville Wills Chair of Botany in the University of Bristol. He graduated in Botany from the University of St Andrews where he also remained to complete a PhD under the supervision of Prof R M Crawford. After post-doc research with Prof A J Trewavas FRS in Edinburgh on calcium dependent protein kinases in plants he moved to the University of Lancaster. At Lancaster Hetherington began working on signal transduction mechanisms in stomatal guard cells and this has been his main interest ever since. He was awarded the President’s Medal of the Society for Experimental Biology (Cell Biology) in 1991 and is a Visiting Professor at University College Dublin, Tianjin Agricultural University, China and Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China. He has a long-standing collaboration with the MBA through common interests with Professor Colin Brownlee in calcium signalling (e.g. McAinsh, Brownlee and Hetherington, 1990, Nature). Alistair Hetherington has also worked for many years with the Research Councils, especially BBSRC where he was a member of research grants committees, strategy board and most recently chair of the Integrative and Systems Biology Strategy Board. He was also a member of the DEFRA Scientific Advisory Council and participated in RAE 2008 as a member of the UoA14 (Biological Sciences). He is Editor in Chief and a Trustee of the New Phytologist and a member of the Editorial Board of Current Biology. At Bristol he was Research Director of the Faculty of Science for 4 years and is currently research Director of the Life Sciences Building. He has also held Visiting positions at the Australian National University, St Catherine’s College and Magdalen, Oxford. From 2014- 2015 he held a Royal Society Leverhulme Trust Senior Research Fellowship. He has previously served on the Governing Council of the John Ines Centre for Plant Science, the National Garden of Wales, the Marine Biological Association of the UK and is currently a Trustee of the New Phytologist Trust. He is a Fellow of the Linnean Society and a Fellow of the Marine Biological Association.

Click here for more information